By-elections for seven assembly constituencies in six states will be held on November 3, followed by counting of votes three days later, the Election Commission of India (ECI) said on Monday, announcing the schedule.

Of the seats for which by-polls will be held, two are in Bihar (Mokama, Gopalganj), and one each in Maharashtra (Andheri East), Haryana (Adampur), Telangana (Munugode), Uttar Pradesh (Gola Gokrannath), and Odisha (Dhamnagar).

The exercise was necessitated due to vacancy on each seat. Anant Kumar Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the-then MLA from Mokama, was disqualified in July after his conviction in a case, while BJP’s Subhash Singh, who held the Gopalganj seat, passed away in August.

By Shadab

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *